New Look Scalloped Potatoes & Ham

 

This is the third  night I’ve made a new meal that we haven’t had before!  And this is the third night that I haven’t gotten any complaints from the family.  I have even gotten the “this is pretty good” from a certain picky person!  Yay me!

I wasn’t sure if this could be considered a meal or a side dish.  I consulted with my other “Girl” and she said it depended on how much ham was in the dish.  Since it had a pound of cut up ham I decided that it was going to be our main course served with some green beans.  This went over well.

I know it says “New Look” in the title (which means a healthier version) but it honestly didn’t seem like it with the ingredient I was using.  But here is the information I got from Kraft’s site:

MAKEOVER – HOW WE DID IT

By preparing this tasty casserole with BREAKSTONE’S FREE or KNUDSEN Fat Free Sour Cream and 2% Milk VELVEETA instead of the full-fat products, you’ll save 40 calories, 6.5 grams of fat and 4 grams of saturated fat per serving.

I didn’t use that brand of sour cream, but I did use the fat free/lite.  I did use the Velveeta instead of full fat cheese.  I’m amazed at how much fat gram were saved.  The calories aren’t the important part to monitor for me, as yo know, but the fat intake.   So if I can save that way, it’s good for me.

what you need

4-1/2 lb. red potatoes (about 9), cut into 1/4-inch-thick slices

1 container (16 oz.) BREAKSTONE’S FREE or KNUDSEN Fat Free Sour Cream

3/4 lb. (12 oz.) 2% Milk VELVEETA®, cut into 1/2-inch cubes

1/2 lb. (1/2 of 1-lb. pkg.) OSCAR MAYER Smoked Ham, chopped

4 green onions, sliced – I left out the onions due to family dislikes –  I would have liked it!

1/4 cup KRAFT Grated Parmesan Cheese

make it

HEAT oven to 350°F.

COOK potatoes in boiling water in large saucepan 10 to 12 min. or just until potatoes are tender; drain. Remove 3/4 of the potatoes; place in large bowl. Add sour cream; mash until smooth. Stir in VELVEETA, ham and onions. Gently stir in remaining potato slices.

SPOON into 13×9-inch baking dish sprayed with cooking spray; sprinkle with Parmesan.

BAKE 30 min. or until heated through.

This was another hit!  The cheesy potatoes were so good and did well as a main dish!  The ham filled us up perfectly!

I told my other half that the last few meals have been healthier versions and I know he can’t tell the difference.  He just asked when he could have rice again for dinner!

Have a great rest of the week.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Leave a Reply

