Smarter Fettucinne Alfredo

 

I love pasta.  I love to make it and I love to eat it.  I searched around the Kraft Foods website to find this one again and it was another hit for us.

I’m not sure why I struggle each week to find meals for us to eat, but I do.  I think I say this at least once a week.  It takes me near an hour to figure out what to have time and again.  But I’ve come across some pretty good ones that Kraft has redone and made into “smart” cooking and made something that is a bit higher in fat/calories and still have it taste amazing.  The Shepherd’s Pie was one and now this one.  I added some chicken to give it a bit more to it.  I felt like leaving it with the sauce and pasta, we may still be hungry!

Here’s what you need:

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into chunks

1/2 lb. fettuccine, uncooked

1-1/4 cups fat-free reduced-sodium chicken broth

4 tsp. flour

1/3 cup PHILADELPHIA 1/3 Less Fat than Cream Cheese –  I used fat free

3 Tbsp. KRAFT Grated Parmesan Cheese, divided

1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

1/8 tsp. pepper

2 Tbsp. chopped fresh parsley

And how to prepare:

COOK pasta as directed on package, omitting salt.

MEANWHILE, cook the chicken chunks in a frying pan until cooked through.  Mix broth and flour together with whisk until well blended. Add reduced-fat cream cheese, 2 Tbsp. Parmesan, nutmeg and pepper; cook 2 min. or until mixture comes to boil and thickens, stirring constantly.

DRAIN pasta; return to pan. Add sauce; toss to coat. Sprinkle with remaining Parmesan and parsley.

kraft kitchens tips

SUBSTITUTE

Prepare using whole wheat fettuccine.

FLAVOR BOOST

Garlic lovers can add 1/8 tsp. garlic powder.

MAKEOVER – HOW WE DID IT

We replaced the butter and milk used in the traditional recipe with chicken broth, flour and PHILADELPHIA 1/3 Less Fat than Cream Cheese. In addition, we decreased the amount of Parmesan cheese. These changes will save you 310 calories and 21 grams of fat per serving when compared to that of the traditional recipe.

Look at the calories and fat saved from changing this up just a bit.  After adding the cream cheese the sauce did get a bit thick.  I may add a bit more chicken broth next time.

I have left overs for lunch tomorrow!!

Have a good week.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Source

Kraft Foods

One thought on “Smarter Fettucinne Alfredo

Leave a Reply

