Chicken & Vegetable Cheesy Pasta

Chicken Pasta

I was going to make this dinner one night that Craig was gone bowling.  But things changed and it just so happened he had to eat it!  He’s not a fan of carrots, which is why I said I was going to make it when he was gone.  I gave him the option to pick them out (and I think he did for the most part), but this was a hearty, close to comfort  food meal.  I also left out the onion because I’m the only fan of them in the house.  I think it would have had given it more flavor but it was still a good pasta dinner.

Easy to make, kids ate it, Craig ate it and there are left overs for me to have for lunch this week!

what you need

2 cups penne pasta, uncooked

1 Tbsp. oil, divided

1-1/2 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into thin strips, divided

7 carrots (1/2 lb.), shredded (I bought a bag of shredded carrots)

1 onion, sliced (I left the onion out due to dislikes)

2 cloves garlic, minced

6 KRAFT Singles, chopped  – I used fat free

2 Tbsp. KRAFT Grated Parmesan Cheese

2 Tbsp.  chopped fresh parsley

make it

COOK pasta in large saucepan as directed on package, omitting salt.

MEANWHILE, heat 1 tsp. oil in large skillet on medium-high heat. Add half the chicken; cook and stir 2 min. or until lightly browned. Remove from skillet; cover to keep warm. Repeat with remaining chicken and 1 tsp. of the remaining oil. Add remaining oil. carrots, onions and garlic to skillet; cook and stir 3 min. Return chicken to skillet; cook 2 min. or until done, stirring frequently. Remove from heat; cover to keep warm.

DRAIN pasta, reserving 1-1/4 cups of the cooking water. Return pasta to pan. Stir in reserved water and Singles; cook and stir 1 min. or until Singles are completely melted. Add chicken mixture; cook and stir 2 min. or until heated through. Top with Parmesan and parsley.

It seems, lately, that every time I’m in the kitchen cooking, the kids come in and say “gross”.  Doesn’t matter what it is.  I’ve grown used to it at this point.  They have a choice.  They can eat what I make for dinner or they can make a sandwich to eat.  Brooklyn has only done that once.  Not sure if it’s because she doesn’t want to make it herself or because she actually likes what I make.  She did go back for 2 more helpings.

Have a great rest of the weekend.

I may have a good dessert for tomorrow depending on time!

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Source:

Kraft Foods

Leave a Reply

