Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

Pulled Chicken Sandwich

What a great dinner this was last night.  I love a great hardy sandwich!  I can say that I haven’t made any kind of pulled sandwich before, so this was a good one to start with.

I thought about doing a pulled pork or even beef, but honestly felt that chicken would taste better for the people in our house!  Need I say more?  If you’ve read the blog from the past, you’re aware of the picky people eaters!

I asked a friend from work if she’d ever shred chicken breasts before and the best way she thought to do it.  My first thought was to boil it.  But she told me she baked hers first and let it cool then used a fork to pull it apart.

Here’s what I used:

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1/2 cup BBQ Sauce – I used Famous Dave’s Sweet and Zesty (If I were just eating it, I’d prefer Devils spit for the heat!!)

1/4 cup water

1tbsp brown sugar

4 Kraft Singles slices – I used fat free

3 baguettes (I found 3 med sized ones and cut one in half for the kids to share).

Directions:

Bake chicken at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes (until cooked through).

Add barbecue sauce, water, chicken and sugar to a skillet.  Stir to coat both sides of chicken. Cover; cook on medium heat 7 min. or until chicken is done (165ºF).

Remove chicken from skillet. Shred with fork or chop into small pieces (after chicken has cooled). Return to skillet; stir to coat with sauce. Cut baguette into 4 pieces; cut each piece lengthwise in half. Fill with chicken mixture and Singles.  I added some sliced onions and pickles to mine!

Pulled Chicken

I’m not a fan of winter in MN, but I am a fan of the comfort food that can be cooked during this time of the year!

Share with us your favorite sandwich that you enjoy making.

Have a great rest of the week.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Leave a Reply

