Avocado Fudge

 

Since we got the avocados I’ve tried to come up with some different things that you wouldn’t normally try with them.  The scallops w/buttercream sauce was a nice surprise.  I have no problems trying things new when it comes to food.  So when given the opportunity to make things that I wouldn’t normally make, I had fun trying to come up with recipes that I haven’t tried yet either!

Avocado Fudge

Yes, you read the title of this one correctly.  Avocado Fudge.  No mistake.  I mentioned this to a couple of people before actually making it and the response was half and half.  When Craig asked me what I was making tonight I said I wasn’t going to tell him because he wouldn’t try it anyways.  So imagine the look on his face when I showed him what I had come up with!!!  (I did make him taste the batter and he said it was good).  Lets see how he feels about it tomorrow when it’s done!

Here’s how they looked in the pan before putting in the fridge to set:

Avocado Fudge before setting in the fridge!

Caleb said it smelled like I was making brownies!  And it did!  When I tasted the mixture, I honestly couldn’t tell that the avocado was in there.  And can anyone say the name “fudge” without  thinking of sugary wonderland and know that it can’t be good for you but you know you have to eat it!!  This is the little excerpt I found on show.com:

Many people wouldn’t think of the combination of avocados and chocolate. But the rich creamy texture of an avocado lends itself nicely to desserts like fudge. Not only are they healthier, but your mouth won’t even miss the oil it replaces. 

Things You’ll Need

  • 1 large ripened avocado
  • 1/2 cup margarine
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 1/4 cups cocoa
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • Saucepan
  • Food processor
  • Baking pan
Instructions
1. Melt the margarine in your saucepan over a medium flame.
2. Peel and puree the avocado mixture in your food processor until the consistency of the avocado is smooth.
3. Combine the avocado, vanilla, cocoa and powdered sugar into your saucepan with your melted margarine. Slowly stir in these ingredients until the mixture is thick.
4. Pour the mixture into a baking pan and place in the fridge overnight so the fudge can harden.
5. Remove the fudge from the fridge and cut into one inch squares and serve.
Don’t forget to stop on by http://www.socalavocados.com to see what they have given us!  Without their response to one of our posts, we wouldn’t be coming up with these fun things to make.
Happy Avocado Baking
Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Avocado Fudge

Leave a Reply

