Scallops w/Buttercream Avocado Sauce

I got my new Canon Rebel T2i Friday.  I read over (barely skimmed) the directions and just started to take pictures.  Why?  I had so much going on this weekend I barely found time to eat until today!!

Last week we got the Avocados from SoCalAvodados!  Thanks again!

I checked my bag today to see if any of them were ripe and two of them were!!!  I had taken scallops out for dinner so I came up with this sauce to go with it.  I searched online and got some main ingredients and then just added as I went along!

 

This was simple to make and had great flavor to the scallops.

For the scallops:

Heat a skillet on med-high heat with 1tbs Extra Virgin Olive Oil and 1 tbsp butter (I use unsalted organic butter).  I patted them dry with a napkin and rolled them in some Italian flavored bread crumbs.  Pan fried each side for 3-4 minutes.  I squeezed fresh lemon juice over the scallops, removed from heat and covered for 5 minutes to soak the juice.

For the avocado sauce:

  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 ripe avocado, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 clove fresh garlic, minced
  • 2 finely chopped green onions
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • zest of half lemon
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

I mixed this in a food processor until it was combined together.  I spread across the place, added the scallops and enjoyed!

This was a super easy recipe that could be used with any fish.  I plan on using it with my salmon for lunch tomorrow!

Happy Sunday.  Enjoy your week.

Patricia Two Girls Cooking

Leave a Reply

