Salmon w/Lemon Parsley sauce

This was my lunch yesterday!  I have the pleasure of working from home.  There was a point where it was so much easier for me to get in my car and go out for lunch every day.  Not only does that become expensive, but it became unhealthy as well.

I’ve talked a lot about doing my best to eat healthy; watching my fat and sugar intake.  Because I have a family that has a picky pallet, I struggle at times with new foods to try.  I also have a hard time trying to come up with things to eat for lunch that are good for me too.  I co-worker of mine had mentioned  one day that she was making herself some salmon for lunch.  Since I can’t have make this for everyone at dinner time, I decided to give this a try for lunch.

I haven’t had salmon in a very long time.  I knew that I needed something to pour over it (just in case I wasn’t pleased with the taste!).  I did a search online and found this butter parsley sauce.  Yes, I know.  Butter is not the best for us to have.  (All things in moderation right!!!)

This was quick and easy and the flavor was amazing.  I bought a pack of Market Pantry (from Target) Wild-Caught Alaskan Keta Salmon (all natural).  I think the entire bag was under $10 for 6  individual wrapped bags.

I pulled out a frying pan, filled it with some extra virgin olive oil and turned the heat on medium-high.  I let the pan get hot and put the salmon in skin side down.

While that was cooking I put together the butter sauce (which I’m actually thinking could be used with extra virgin olive oil as well next time).

Here’s what you need for the sauce:

1/2 c. butter

1 tbsp. fresh lemon juice

2 garlic cloves, mashed (I used 3 garlic cloves)

1/4 c. chopped fresh parsley (I had dried parsley on hand)

Melt the butter in a small saucepan and stir in the lemon juice, garlic and parsley. Blend well and stir over low heat for several minutes. Serve with the baked salmon.

Makes about 1/2 cup.

Because of the butter in this sauce, I didn’t use the entire amount.  But the garlic and lemon together was amazing.  This was so good.  I will definitely be eating this again for lunch.  (Now if I could get the family to eat this as well).  No more salads every day for lunch for me!

Have a great rest of the week.

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Leave a Reply

