Lemon Blueberry Bars

One of my new interests that I found on Facebook (imagine that) is Pinterest.  A friend of mine had posted a craft project they found on there.  I didn’t give it a thought until I saw one of my favorite bloggers, Brown Eyed Baker posting on this site as well.  I did what I always do when I need to find something, I googled Pinterest.  I got an invite and have been pinning since.

There’s a bit of everything on this site.   There’s arts and crafts, cooking, photography, technology, etc.  You name it, it’s on there.  And this is where I happened to find this dessert.  I found this from Epicurean Mom’s website.  I found yet another favorite food blog that I’ll be following.  Amazing food and great pictures.

I’ve been giving my all at making the desserts lately.  I have been having a great time at baking them as well.  I don’t get to enjoy them as much as the family does, but these are really good.  These are really good!  Did I already say that!!!!!

Here’s what you need and how to prepare:

For Base:
Butter, for greasing
2 tablespoon sugar
1/8 tablespoon ground cinnamon
9 graham crackers
1/2 stick unsalted butter, melted


For the Filling:
16 ounces cream cheese, room temperature (I used fat free)
2 eggs
2 lemons, zested and juiced
1/2 cup sugar
1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries

Directions

For the Base:
Preheat oven to 325 degrees

Grease the bottom of a 9 by 9-inch baking pan with butter.  Then place parchment paper over the top, pressing down at the corners.  In a food processor, process the sugar, cinnamon and graham crackers until you have the consistency of breadcrumbs.  Add the melted butter and pulse a couple of times to fully incorporate.  Pour into the lined baking pan and firmly pat down with the bottom of a glass.  Bake for about 12 minutes, or until set.

For the filling:
Add cream cheese, eggs, lemon zest, lemon juice, and sugar to the food processor and pulse until well combined.  It should have a smooth consistency.  Pour onto the cooked graham cracker base and then sprinkle with blueberries.  They will sink slightly but should be half exposed.

Bake in the oven for 35-45 minutes, or until the center only slightly jiggles.  Remove from the oven and cool completely before Refrigerating for at least 3 hours.  Once set, remove from pan using the parchment lining and slice into 10 rectangular bars.

Recipe adapted from Tyler Florence

These are a must make recipe!

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

 

Leave a Reply

