Chicken Cashew Chow Mein

 

The other day I read an article about Whoopi Goldberg’s favorite foods.  I looked up The View online and saw that it was her birthday that episode where they made a Chicken Chow Mein for her.

Whoopi  says she doesn’t eat vegetables at all.  She grew up eating all she needed to have so she doesn’t eat them now.  Ming Tsai is her favorite chef that prepared this meal for her.  He made it with chicken and scallions with the sauce.  Check out their site to view this episode.

I decided to add some broccoli and the scallions with some cashews to it.  My family may be picky, but they will eat broccoli (at times shall I say).  And they were told that what they didn’t like they could pick out (excluding the broccoli!).

Here’s what you need to make this.

1/2 pound fresh or dried chow mein or Shanghai noodles (I couldn’t find these noodles so  I used Rice Noodles)
Kosher salt
6 tablespoons grape seed or canola oil, plus more for coating the noodles
11/2 pounds boneless, brined* skinless chicken breasts, cut across the width into (I used chicken breasts and cut into chunks)
1/3-inch strips
3 tablespoons minced garlic
2 tablespoons minced ginger (I have a new found love of fresh ginger)
1 bunch scallions, white and green parts, cut into 1-inch lengths (I left these nice and big for those that picked them out)
1/4 cup Wan Ja Shan® naturally brewed soy sauce (I used the soy sauce I had on hand)
1/4 cup honey
Juice of 2 limes
3 small bell peppers, red, green, and yellow, cut into 1-inch dice (I left out the peppers)
1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil, for drizzling (I did not do this step)

 

Here’s how you prepare it.

1. Fill a large bowl with water and add ice cubes. In a wok, cook the noodles in abundant boiling salted water until al dente, 3 minutes if fresh, 8 to 10 minutes if dried. Drain and transfer the noodles to the ice water. When cold, drain, transfer to a plate, coat lightly with oil, and set aside.

2. Drain the wok, dry it, and heat over high heat. Add 4 tablespoons of the oil and swirl to coat the pan. When the oil is hot, add the chicken and stir-fry until the chicken is cooked through, about 6 minutes. Transfer the chicken to a plate.

3. Add the remaining 2 tablespoons oil to the wok, swirl, and when hot, add the garlic, ginger and scallions and broccoli. Stir-fry until soft, about 1 minute. Add the soy sauce, deglaze the wok, and add the honey and lime juice. Simmer until the liquid is reduced by one quarter, about 30 seconds. Return the chicken with any juice in the plate to the wok and add the peppers (I left out the peppers and added the cashews). Toss, add the noodles, and heat through, about 2 minutes.

4. Transfer to a platter, drizzle with the sesame oil, and serve. (Remember, I skipped this part)

I added a couple of handfuls of broccoli and a handful of the cashews.

*Brine method: Use sweet sea water ratio: 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup kosher salt to 1 quart water, multiply as necessary to fully submerge protein in a large container. Cover and refrigerate overnight. Rinse under running water before cooking.

I included the brine method for those that choose to make the chicken this way.
I hope you enjoy this meal.
Have a great week!
Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

 

 

Leave a Reply

