Pizza Roll Ups

 

At least once a week now I’ve been making home made pizza (one of Caleb’s favorite meals!).  Tonight, instead of making the deep dish pizza I thought I’d give this a try.  I’ve seen people make it for parties or as an appetizer.   Pizza is pizza and we’ll eat it any way it comes.

I used the same ingredients as the deep dish recipe but just rolled it up into a log and baked it.  How easy is that?   And the kids got to help make it as well.  Kept them busy and out of each other’s way for the time being!!

 

Kids in the kitchen

 

Brooklyn & Calebs roll

Nana's Pizza roll

For the recipe and how to, click on the deep dish pizza or recipe link above and it’ll bring you to the page for everything you need!

Here’s the short version for you:

Whole-Grain Pizza Crust

1 cup warm water

2 (1/4 ounce )  packages active dry yeast

1/2 cup skim milk

2 tbs honey

2 tbs olive oil (I used light olive oil)

1/2tsp salt

1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup cornmeal

1 1/2 to 2 1/2 cups bread flour

For the sauce:
1 tbsp. unsalted butter
2 tbsp. grated onion
Pinch of dried oregano
¼ tsp. salt
1 clove garlic, minced or pressed
1 (14.5 oz) can crushed tomatoes
Pinch of sugar
2 tbsp. fresh basil leaves, coarsely chopped
1½ tsp. extra-virgin olive oil
Ground black pepper

For assembling and topping:
2 tbsp. olive oil
8 oz. mozzarella, shredded (about 2 cups)
¼ oz. Parmesan cheese, grated (about 2 tbsp.)

I added green olives and more onions to my roll.  You can add just about any pizza topping you want!!

Pizza Roll Ups

This was a great start for the weekend.  I’m afraid I could eat the entire thing.  But I’ve stepped away from the pizza!  Leftovers for lunch tomorrow!

Enjoy!

Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Leave a Reply

