Raspberry Thumbprint Cookies

 With Christmas approaching faster than I’d like and the cookie exchange even closer, I did more baking tonight.   These turned out to be a bigger hit than the Apricot Cookies last week.  Dare I say that I got an email from Betty Crocker today and found these on the site?  Do I say that I made the sugar cookies that came out of a bag  Yep, the mix sure did.  I know that Jodi has a recipe on our site for sugar cookies that she made for the holidays, but I wanted to see how these would turn out before attempting them with the homemade dough first.

Before I even got the 2nd pan in the oven there were only 5 left out of the 12 that came out.

I put the 2nd pan in the oven and Brooklyn couldn’t wait for them to come out!

When Craig ate the first cookie, he asked me what I did different from the cookies I had made last week.  I wanted to giggle a bit and tell him not much.  But the Betty Crocker bag was on the counter!  So I picked it up, showed him..he said he was going to tell on me that I didn’t make these by scratch if I brought them to the exchange.  Go ahead Mr. Craig, I already told Mary I may use this recipe and she said it was fine! Ha!

If you’re looking for ideas for baking cookies for the holiday visit Betty Crocker, there are many more to choose from.  And more that I may be trying before Santa comes for a visit to our house!!

These were super easy.  They were really good (I ate at least 4 of them myself).  I even used a jelly that had less sugar added and you can’t even tell the difference.  Though I’m not sure at this point in time it really matters!!

 

1 pouch (1 lb 1.5 oz) Betty Crocker® sugar cookie mix
1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
1 egg
3 tablespoons Gold Medal® all-purpose flour
1/3 cup seedless raspberry jam
1 cup white vanilla baking chips
Red or green sugar, if desired (I only had pink so I left this out).
  • Heat oven to 375°F. In large bowl, stir cookie mix, butter, egg and flour until dough forms.
  • Roll dough into 3/4-inch balls; place 2-inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet. Using thumb or handle of wooden spoon, make indentation in center of each cookie. Spoon about 1/4 teaspoon jam into each indentation.
  • Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until edges are light golden brown. Cool 5 minutes; remove from cookie sheet to wire rack.
  • In small microwavable bowl, microwave baking chips on High 1 to 2 minutes or until chips are melted; stir until smooth. Spoon melted chips into small resealable plastic bag; cut small hole in corner of bag. Squeeze bag gently to drizzle melted chips over cookies. Sprinkle with colored sugar.
Happy Holidays to you and yours.  I am am actually having a good time trying to find what I’m going to bring to this party.  Some may turn out and some might not. But either way the kids and I are having a good time.  
Have a great week.
Patricia – Two Girls Cooking

Leave a Reply

