Chalupas

A couple of days ago Craig and I were talking about what to have for dinner.  I try to include him in the meal planning since he has a “different” taste for dinner than I do.  We saw a commercial for Taco Bell – which I am NOT a fan of, but he likes their Chalupas.  So I found a recipe online on how to make them.

I’m not sure how Taco Bell or any other restaurant gets them in the taco shape because I had a rough time with that.  Craig even helped roll them out and cooked them.  This one in the picture he got to fold in half, but then it fell apart.

I think it turned out pretty good.  I might add some different spices to the breading next time.  But for our first time, these turned out pretty good!

Here’s what you need:

  1. To make Indian Fry Bread Mix dry ingredients together.
  2. Cut in shortening; then add milk.
  3. Shape dough into a long cylinder; cut into 8 equal parts.
  4. Flour hands, then work the pieces into 6″ tortillas.
  5. Fry in oil until golden brown.
  • I used ground turkey for the taco meat and added our favorite toppings (meat, sour cream, cheese, onions and some hot sauce).  If Craig wasn’t eating I may have had some refried beans and black olives!!
  • I wonder if Taco Bell would tell me how they get theirs to fold over while frying!!!!!
  • Have a great weekend.
  • Patricia
Leave a Reply

