Stove Top Sweet Citrus Chicken

Stove Top Sweet Citrus Chicken

Every week I make a list of “what’s for dinner”.  I can’t tell you how long I sit and think about what to have for that week.  I do get tired of the same old things, but it’s so hard to plan when there are different tastes between some of us!!!

But really, I sit and think for at least an hour of what I’m going to make for the seven day week.  This week I told myself I’m trying one new recipe.  I don’t care if  I make it up or I find it online, I’m trying something new.

If it were just me, I’d throw anything together (minus tomatoes!!), but it’s not, so there has to be some planning on my end.  I googled healthy dinners, 7 days dinner plans, 5 day dinner plans, and found a few that the family might like.  In fact, we are trying 3 new meals this week.  So far we had a new mix of sloppy joes (which I forgot to take a pix of – I ate it too fast).  This is one of the recipes I found online and it was sooooooo good.

The citrus in the title does not do it justice.  The orange juice and brown sugar over the chicken is very good.  I highly recommend this one!!!  Even the ones with “different” tastes are sure to like this one!

Here’s what you need:

1-2/3 cups hot water

1 pkg.  (6 oz.) STOVE TOP Stuffing Mix for Chicken

6 small Boneless skinless chicken breast halves (1-1/2 lb.), pounded to 1/2-inch thickness

2/3 cup  Orange juice

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

3 Tbsp.  Butter or margarine, melted

Heat the oven to 400 degrees..

Here’s how:

ADD hot water to stuffing mix; stir just until moistened.

PLACE chicken in 13×9-inch baking dish. Mix juice, sugar and butter until blended; pour over chicken. Top with stuffing.

BAKE 30 min. or until chicken is done (165ºF).

The orange juice/brown sugar gets nice and thick and coats the chicken…Mmmm..I had seconds.

Enjoy!

Patricia

One thought on “Stove Top Sweet Citrus Chicken

Leave a Reply

