Quick Refrigerator Pickles

I love dill pickles, they’re perfect for when I crave just a little something salty and crunchy. I keep finding new recipes I swear I’m going to try, but there’s one recipe I keep coming back to. These are not the sweet variety I always thought of when I heard “refrigerator pickles”, I’m not a big fan of the sweet ones. These are very fresh and fairly mild tasting and have a crisp crunch. They are also the easiest to make; since they stay in the fridge they don’t need to process in boiling water. This recipe is great for small batches – which has been how I’ve done most of my canning so far. I tried my hand at growing my own pickling cucumbers and dill this year, and so every week or so I find myself with just enough to pick and make 3-4 quart jars. These can be eaten after just a few days, but have better flavor if you can wait a week or two (I’m not great at waiting!). They will keep in the fridge for about 2 months, and the flavor will continue to develop as they sit.

You’ll need:

1 gallon of pickling cucumbers (for 4 quarts)

1 cup white vinegar

8 cups water

1/4 cup pickling salt

For each quart jar:

1 dill head

1 clove garlic

1/2 tbsp mixed pickling spices

1/2 bay leaf

Combine the vinegar, water and pickling salt in a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil and set aside to cool.

Place the dill, garlic, pickling spices and bay leaves in each jar. Fill the jar with cucumbers, cut in halves or quarters if they are large.

When the vinegar solution has cooled, pour it over the cucumbers and refrigerate.

This is my go to recipe when I want to use up what came out of my garden, but don’t want to be canning all night. Now I have a whole shelf full in the fridge, looks like it’s time to share!

– Jodi

7 thoughts on “Quick Refrigerator Pickles

  1. Scotty says:

    I tasted jodi’s quick pickles and they were awesome. Very crunchy and blistering with taste. Of course, I love everything she makes….that’s one reason why I’m going to marry her!

Leave a Reply

