Cooking Demonstration and Book Signing with Cat Cora

Patricia and I were invited to Macy’s on Saturday for a cooking demonstration and book signing with Cat Cora. There were several other bloggers from the Twin Cities area and it was awesome to meet and talk with Dutch Baker’s Daughter and Cafe Cyan. Not only were we excited to be invited to the event; we felt pretty important with our front row reserved seats!

While waiting for Cat to arrive, we were served non alcoholic watermelon margaritas.  They came in the tiniest little cup and tasted great!!  When Cat arrived, the bloggers were all called over to meet her and get pictures taken with her.  She is so open and friendly; she made us all feel very comfortable!  I was also surprised to find she wasn’t too much taller than me (I’m 5 ft on a good day)!

After we all took our seats, Cat told us about her new cookbook, Cat Cora’s Classics with a Twist.  She said she’d be making two recipes from the book. I will try out and post the recipes myself later this week. First she prepared Grilled Chile-Lime Flank Steak Soft Tacos with Pineapple Salsa.  Cat encouraged everyone to not only make her recipes just as printed; but to have fun with them!  For example, try using mango or peaches in place of the pineapple. We each got a little taco of our own to try.  I was concerned the spices would be too hot for me (medium salsa is as hot as I can handle).  However, the pineapple salsa to helped cool it down; it was just right!

The second dish was the Grapefruit and Cherry Ambrosia with Honey Cream. We each got a small sample of this to try as well.  Though I’m not a big fan of grapefruit or cherries, she did included pineapple and toasted coconut. Yum! I really enjoyed the cream, I would love to make this with some of my favorite fruits.

Through the entire demonstrating, Cat answered questions from the audience. We learned about her 4 kids and how they stay connected with her busy schedule; she says how she sends them cards, gifts in the mail and calls them every day.

Cat went on to explain to us what goes into filming an episode of Iron Chef America.  She said they are not told what the main ingredient is ahead of time, but they are given what type of cuisine is would be (such as Greek) and to stick to that. The cooking battle is in real time, but there is about 6 hours of filming that goes into each 45 minute episode!

In addition to this book tour, Cat is now working with the First Lady and her anti-obesity campaign to help inspire kids throughout the country to learn more about the food they eat. She spoke about teaching kids to grow their own vegetables and how many of the kids are less reluctant to try something new when they got to be involved in growing it. Since I’ve been growing some things on my own these last couple years, I have to agree; things just seem to taste better when you’ve had a hand in growing them!

After the demonstration was over we each had the opportunity to have Cat sign our cookbooks. Patricia and I each picked one up for ourselves and can’t wait to start making some of the recipes.  We decided because we had so much fun, we wanted to share this with our readers!  We are giving away one signed copy of Cat Cora’s Classics with a Twist.

TO ENTER

To enter the giveaway answer the following question in the Comments section of this post:

What is your favorite cookbook?

One entry per person please.

Deadline is Thursday June 10th, 2010 at 11:59 pm central standard time.

Winners will be selected at random and announced Friday.

Good luck!

Don’t forget to check back later this week for the recipes in today’s post!

– Jodi

8 thoughts on “Cooking Demonstration and Book Signing with Cat Cora

  1. Cheryl W. says:

    Well, I am just now getting started on cookbooks, but of those I do have Pioneer Woman Cooks is my favorite.

  2. Sounds like so much fun! My favorite cookbook is the one that my aunt made for Christmas for all the women in my family. It includes all the “family” recipes – including copies in the original handwriting of cooks multiple generations back. It means a lot to me to have a piece of my family’s traditions that I can refer to like that, plus they were all great cooks!!

  3. Renee Richardson says:

    My favorite cookbook is Hungry Girl: 200 Under 200: 200 Recipes Under 200 Calories by Lisa Lillien. I love it because I love to indulge but I still want to be healthy without sacrificing taste. This book has great recipes. Thanks for the amazing giveaway 🙂

Leave a Reply

