Candy Cane Marshmallows

I found this recipe while looking for something new to make for the holidays. I’ve only worked with egg whites once or twice before and wasn’t very successful. I like a challenge now and then so I thought I’d give these a shot. I felt a little like a mad scientist: sugar brewing over here, gelatin over there, egg whites in the mixer. I had a good time making these, maybe because I felt like I won- I beat the egg whites! It was so neat to see it grow in volume as it whipped together. When it was all done I was (overly) proud of my marshmallows. They are light and fluffy, with just enough (not too much) peppermint flavor. I think it would be fun to experiment with different flavor extracts and see how they taste. I shared them with anyone who’d try one, and even got a couple requests for the recipe!


Candy Cane Marshmallows
(from Martha Stewart)
2 cups sugar
1 tbsp light corn syrup
1 1/2 cups water, divided
4 pkg (1/4 ounce each) unflavored gelatin (1 Box)
3/4 tsp peppermint extract
2 large egg whites
2 tsp red food coloring
Powdered Sugar


Coat a 13X9 pan with cooking spray; line bottom with parchment paper. Coat the parchment with cooking spray, and set pan aside. Put sugar, corn syrup, and 3/4 cup water in a small saucepan. Cook over medium heat, stirring, until sugar is dissolved. Stop stirring; let mixture come to a boil. Raise heat to medium-high; cook until mixture registers 260 degrees on a candy thermometer.

Meanwhile, sprinkle gelatin over 3/4 cup water in a heatproof bowl; let stand 5 minutes to soften. Set the bowl with the gelatin mixture over a pan of simmering water; whisk constantly until gelatin is dissolved. Remove from heat, and stir in extract; set aside.
Beat egg whites in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment until stiff (but not dry) peaks form. Whisk gelatin mixture into sugar mixture; with mixer running, gradually add to egg whites. Mix on high speed until very thick, 12 to 15 minutes.

Pour mixture into lined pan. Working quickly, drop dots of red food coloring across surface of marshmallow. Using a toothpick, swirl food coloring into marshmallow to create a marbleized effect. Let marshmallow stand, uncovered, at room temperature until firm, at least 3 hours or overnight. Cut into squares.


A few things I learned that might come in handy:
* The original recipe used an 8 in square pan. The marshmallows were very tall, I ended up cutting them in half. I prefer the 13X9 pan size.
* These are quite sticky, but if you roll them in powdered sugar and brush off the excess they don’t stick anymore. I did this to the top and sides before starting to cut my second batch and they went much easier.
* Using a pizza cutter to roll through went a lot faster and smoother than a knife.


Scott got a chocolate fountain for Christmas with my family last weekend. I think these will be great for our first chocolate fondue! I know I said in my last post that was all of my holiday treats; but I promise, I really am done now with holiday treats. For this year…  🙂
– Jodi

Leave a Reply

