Surprise Cookies

I made these right before Thanksgiving and just got too busy to post them. For Thanksgiving I hosted a big dinner for about 25 people, and it turned out great! I was planning on posting all about it, but in the excitement of the day I completely forgot to take pictures. Maybe next year…  Anyways I found these cookies on the Martha Stewart website and decided to give them a try. They tasted great, I love the marshmallows and chocolate together. They are moist and chewy and quite addicting. Having “just one” always turned into at least 2 or 3. I always seem to have trouble though with lumpy chocolate frosting. Anyone out there with suggestions, I’d love to get this kink worked out. I’m pretty sure either my cocoa powder or my powdered sugar is the culprit, maybe if I sift them next time? Help!


Cookies:
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 large egg
1/2 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
12 large marshmallows, cut in half horizontally


Frosting:
2 cups powdered sugar
4 tbsp (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/4 cup milk
1/4 tsp vanilla extract


Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt; set aside.
In medium bowl cream together butter and sugar with mixer until light and fluffy. Add egg, milk, and vanilla, and beat until well combined. Add reserved flour mixture; mix on low speed until combined.
Using a tablespoon or 1 3/4-inch ice cream scoop, drop dough onto ungreased baking sheets, about 2 inches apart. Bake until cookies begin to spread and become firm, 10 to 12 minutes.
Remove baking sheets from oven, and place a marshmallow, cut-side down, in the center of each cookie, pressing down slightly. Return to oven, and continue baking until marshmallows begins to melt, 2 to 2 1/2 minutes. Transfer cookies to a wire rack to cool completely.


Place powdered sugar in a medium bowl. Whisk in butter and cocoa powder. Add milk and vanilla, and whisk until well combined.
Spread about 1 tablespoon of frosting over each marshmallow, starting in the center and continuing outward until marshmallow is covered.


I’ve just gotten started on my holiday baking. I have a whole list of things I’m excited to try and of course have to make some old favorites too. If I can get this frosting right I might have to add these to my holiday list!
– Jodi

Leave a Reply

