Snowball Cake

My mom told me about a cake she saw on her Kraft magazine couple weeks ago, and after I looked it up I agreed it sounded good and told her she should make it sometime. Then she reminded me her birthday was coming up soon. Ok, so I’m not great at getting hints! But once she spelled it out for me I was happy to make her this birthday cake. It looks and tastes like a larger version of the hostess snowball. Reading through the recipe, I thought- Now if I just set that cream cheese filling on top, how will it get to the center? But it did sink in there just like it should. I brought it to my mom with a chicken pot pie for dinner on Sunday night and my whole family really enjoyed the cake.


Snowball Cake (from Kraft foods)

1 pkg (2-layer size) devil’s food cake mix
1 pkg  (8 oz) Cream Cheese, softened
1 egg
2 Tbsp granulated sugar
1 pkg (3.4 oz) Vanilla Flavor Instant Pudding
1/4 cup  powdered sugar
1 cup cold milk
1 tub (8 oz) Cool Whip Whipped Topping, thawed
1 cup Flaked Coconut


Prepare cake batter, in 2-1/2-qt. ovenproof bowl, as directed on package; scrape side of bowl. Beat cream cheese, egg and sugar until well blended; spoon into center of batter in bowl.
Bake 1 hour 5 min. or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool cake in bowl 10 min. Loosen cake from bowl with knife; invert onto wire rack. Remove bowl. Cool cake completely.
Beat dry pudding mix, powdered sugar and milk in medium bowl with whisk 2 min. Stir in Cool Whip. Refrigerate until ready to use.
Place cake on plate; frost with pudding mixture. Cover with coconut. Keep refrigerated.


I found the icing to be a little bit runny and hard to work with at first, so I put it back in the fridge for about 30 minutes before using it on the cake. Scott was really impressed by way the filling sunk into the cake, so maybe I’ll have to make a filled cake for his birthday next month. The photo of the cut cake is not as nice as I’d like, but I had a piece waiting for me and I wasn’t going to wait long to dig in!


Happy Birthday Mom!
– Jodi
Leave a Reply

