French Onion Soup



I made this soup last week, but have been so busy I just haven’t had a chance to post it. I love french onion soup, and as the weather continues to get colder I crave any kind of soup more and more. I made this when I made the stud muffin, thinking that bread would be great with a soup- especially a soup with bread in it! This is a very simple recipe and didn’t take long at all. I planned on topping with just the gruyere, but since I had leftover parmesan and romano from the bread I topped the soup with a mixture of the three. It was very good with the cheesy bread.

6 cups thinly sliced onions. I used red onions, because they’re my favorite and I always have plenty on hand.

1 tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp pepper
1/3 cup olive oil
6 cups beef broth
8 slices french bread, thickly sliced and toasted. I used the stud muffin instead.
1/2 cup shredded cheese. Swiss or gruyere are great with this soup. The mix of gruyere, parmesan and romano was really good too.


Cook the onions, sugar and pepper in oil in a large pot over medium-low heat for about 20 minutes or until onions are carmelized, stirring often. Add the broth and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover and simmer for 30 minutes.


Scoop the soup into ovenproof bowls. Top each with a slice of bread and sprinkle with cheese. Broil 4-6 inches from heat until cheese is melted.


I offered to eat all the leftovers on my own, but was told I had to share. I certainly didn’t mind having this two nights in a row!
While working on this post I noticed it’s our 100th post. How exciting! Not bad for just over a year of blogging. We have enjoyed sharing these recipes with you and look forward to sharing more!


– Jodi

2 thoughts on “French Onion Soup

Leave a Reply

