Baked Potato Soup

Last night we raked up all the leaves in the yard and we had pumpkins that needed carving so I needed a quick dinner. All the cold damp weather we’ve been having here in Minnesota has made me crave soup pretty much every day. I decided to make this recipe from the kraft foods website, I just changed out some of the ingredients for healthier versions.





1 lb. baking potatoes (about 2), cubed
1 can (14-1/2 oz.) chicken broth (I used fat-free reduced-sodium)
1 cup milk
3 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled
1 cup shredded Cheddar Cheese (I used reduced fat)
1 sliced green onion
1/4 cup sour cream (I used the fat free)




Microwave potatoes in large microwaveable bowl on high 5 min, stirring after 2-1/2 min. Stir in broth and milk. Microwave 10 min, stirring after 5 min. Carefully crush potatoes with potato masher.
Reserve 2 Tbsp. each bacon and cheese and 1 Tbsp. onions for topping. Stir remaining bacon, cheese and onions into soup.
Serve topped with reserved bacon, cheese, onions and sour cream.


This was a fast meal for a busy weeknight. Mine took a little longer because I didn’t cut up the potatoes small enough, so next time I’ll try 1 inch cubes. Even using the lower fat ingredients this soup was very creamy and hearty. Definitely one I will make again!
– Jodi


Leave a Reply

