Turkey Veggie Chili

Yesterday I was looking over my food supplies and trying to come up with a meal to make that wouldn’t require me to go shopping. This was part laziness and part budgeting. Every time I run to the store for “just a couple things” I end up with a cartful of stuff. I decided I had the makings of a good chili, and for me you don’t have chili without fresh baked bread.  That’s the way my mom always served it, and now that’s the way I like it. To go with my chili then, I made a loaf of Ciabatta bread which you can read about here. This chili was nice and thick and because of all the veggies and ground turkey it’s pretty healthy too. This recipe is not very spicy because I am not a fan of really spicy foods. I leave those to Patricia!


1 large onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced
1 pound ground turkey
1 1/2 Tbsp chili powder
1 Tbsp paprika
2 tsp red pepper flakes
1 tsp ground cumin
2 medium tomatoes, chopped (I used some I had canned)
1 can tomato sauce
1 can chicken broth
1 can kidney beans, rinsed and drained
2 medium carrots, thinly sliced into rounds
2 stalks celery, thinly sliced
1 can mushrooms, drained
Salt and Pepper to taste

Brown turkey with the onion and the garlic in a large pot over medium heat. Add spices, tomatoes, tomato sauce, broth, beans, veggies and mushrooms; bring mixture to a boil. Cover, reduce heat and simmer until meat and vegetables are tender, about 30 to 45 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper. 
I garnished mine with a little white cheddar cheese and my bread of course!
– Jodi
Leave a Reply

