Caprese Wraps

I’ve been seeing commercials for this mozzarella cheese that comes in a sheet, and thought that was just waiting for me to get creative. I also have a cherry tomato plant that is going crazy right now, so I wanted to incorporate them as well. These little wraps were fairly easy to make, but my little cheese roll did not unwrap as easily as they show in the commercial!

1 roll mozzarella cheese
about 1/4 cup of olive oil
1 clove garlic, chopped or through the press
1 to 2 tbsp chopped fresh basil
12 cherry tomatoes, sliced and seeded

Mix the olive oil, basil and garlic in a small bowl. Unroll the mozzarella cheese, spread with oil mixture and top with the sliced tomatoes. Roll the cheese back up, and slice into about 1/2 inch slices.

These didn’t want to stay together on their own accord, so I used toothpicks to hold them together until we were ready to eat. They were good, but I didn’t like the texture of this roll cheese as much as regular fresh mozzarella, it felt a little rubbery to me.

– Jodi

Leave a Reply

