My Favorite Holiday Treats

 

Besides the recipes Patricia and I made with the kids last night, I have a few more favorite holiday treats I like to make every year. I’ve been making these throughout the past week or so, and thought I’d just post them all at once.  🙂

Cheese Ball
My mom used to make this every year and I always looked forward to it (I still call it “My Mom’s Cheese Ball”). Now I make a double batch every year and share it with her and everyone else. If you put it in smaller containers it freezes well, and just take it out the day before you need it.

2 8 oz pkgs of Cream Cheese
8 oz of shredded cheddar
1 lb velveeta cheese, cut up
1/2 lb butter or margarine
1 tbsp chopped onion or shallot
1 tbsp pimento
2 pkgs dried beef, cut up

Set cheeses and butter in a 3 qt mixing bowl to soften. Then mix well with a beater. I throw the onion, pimento and dried beef into the food processor so I don’t have to chop it all up by hand. Add the chopped onion, pimento and beef to the cheese mixture and Mix well.

White Pretzels
1 pkg white bark
1 bag pretzels

Melt the white bark on the stove (see peppermint bark below). Drop in pretzels, a few at a time. I use a fork to pick them out, let the extra bark can drip off. Place on wax or parchment paper to harden. I place in the fridge for about 20 min to speed it up. 

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies
1 3/4 cup flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 shortening
1/2 cup peanut butter
2 tbsp milk
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg
about 48 Hershey Kisses (unwrapped, of course!)

Heat oven to 375. In a large bowl, mix flour, salt, and baking soda. Add shortening and peanut butter and mix until smooth. Add sugars and beat until light and fluffy. Add egg and vanilla and mix until smooth. Shape dough into balls, and roll in sugar. Bake for 10-12 min. Top each with a Hershey Kiss. The chocolate will get melty, so let these sit and harden before storing.

– Jodi
Leave a Reply

