Spaghetti and Meatballs

I started out the day intending to open a jar of spaghetti sauce and make some meatballs to dress it up a bit. Patricia continues to push me to make more things from scratch, so when I told her my plan she of course was opposed. She told me I could make the sauce myself. She also happily provided me a few key ingredients I didn’t have on hand. 🙂

Once again she was right. Not only did it taste great, I also got to use some of the herbs I’ve been growing and a home grown tomato I’ve been waiting for an excuse to use. I’ll include my ingredients here but the measurements are not exact – I just added things until I liked the taste. I’m more the type of person to follow a recipe to a T, but I’m learning to cook more by taste and come up with my own variations.

This recipe made quite a bit! Since there are only two in my household, I froze the leftovers to eat again another time. 

– Jodi

1 lb ground beef
12 oz italian sausage
1 egg
1 tsp mustard
1/2 cup onion
1/4 grated parmesan cheese mix
1/2 cup bread crumbs (Patricia says used crushed Cheez-its)
fresh basil, chives, parsley (about 1 tbsp)

Mix throughly and form into 2 tbsp balls, about 34. Bake at 350 for 30-35 min until cooked through.

3 cans tomato sauce
1 medium tomato, cut up
3 cloves of garlic
3/4 cup onion
1 small can black olives
fresh basil, chives, parsley 
oregano
salt/pepper

Stir to combine ingredients. Simmer on stove or in crockpot with meatballs until heated through or until ready to serve. 
Leave a Reply

