Pumpkin Cake


About a month ago I agreed to make a child’s birthday cake. I asked what kind of cake I should make, thinking along the lines of Chocolate or Vanilla. She is asking for a Princess cake. 
After much deliberation and some youtube searching I think I have decided to go for something like this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vwqaF8f3VW0
Because I have never attempted anything like this before I thought I better try a smaller version first just for practice. So I made a yellow cake, one 8 inch round and one in a glass bowl.  Since I love fall I decided these two cakes would make a great pumpkin. I frosted both with buttercream frosting, then covered in marshmallow fondant. 
Patricia also wanted to try her hand at decorating with fondant, so she added a face. 🙂

It was messy and fun. I learned a few things too, so hopefully I’ll be ready when it’s time to make that Princess cake!  🙂
– Jodi
Leave a Reply

